Bummer

Just a ridiculous bummer.  I generally wait until after a series is over to rant or rave about it, but I need an outlet.  This is what it feels like to be a Giants fan today:

The problem with rivalries is that when you lose to one, it hurts more.  I assume the flip side is that when you beat a rivalry, it feels really good, but since we’re currently 1-4 against the Dodgers this season, I wouldn’t know about good feelings.

batsvssupes.jpgI’d say I hope we win today, but who cares?  We lost the series.  AGAIN.  They took the series in their town and then they came to ours and did it AGAIN.  Sweep or no sweep, the series is theirs.  Okay okay, I do want the Giants to win today (I’m not that crazy!), I’m just saying I don’t think it will be especially satisfying if they do. 

hohum.gif
On the plus side, there’s still nine more games to go against the Dodgers, six of which are home games.  It’s still possible to outdo them this year. 

victory.jpgMeanwhile though, we’re on a four game losing streak watching the Rockies crawl right past us thanks to their success against the Padres.  Everywhere else in the league, the fourth place spot is seven-to-nine games behind, while we’re only 4.5 to the third places 4 and second places 3.  So it’s still a tight race, but I can’t say it’s awesome to be so low on the list again.

Rk Tm W L W-L% GB Strk
1 SDP 45 32 .584 L 2
2 LAD 42 35 .545 3.0 W 2
3 COL 41 36 .532 4.0 W 2
4 SFG 40 36 .526 4.5 L 4
5 ARI 30 48 .385 15.5 L 2
Provided by Baseball-Reference.com: View Original Table
Generated 6/30/2010.

Maybe these are bad luck? 
pandahat.jpg

Just throwing it out there… 

Leave a comment